Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New member in Hertfordshire

benvz

Hi,

My name's Ben - I bought myself a scope for Christmas and have spent the last month and a half watching the skies :bino2:, mainly with frustration due to the :clouds1:. I live in the Hemel/St Albans area and was wondering if there was anyone else near me who would fancy meeting up to observe. Someone who knows a thing or two and is willing to share their hard-won knowledge (perhaps over a pint when the clouds roll in) would be great, but I'm sure it'd be just as fun to stargaze with another complete novice like myself.

I've seen some posts about Wrest Park, which looks good, but is towards the upper limit of ideal distance for me, as it's a 40-minute drive away. I live about 25 mins away from Ashridge Estate (though not sure about the feasability of using this as an observing spot). I realise I'm being a bit fussy here :blush:, but everyone prefers not to have to go too far. I am investigating a few spots nearer to home for me - but I think round Ashridge and the Ivinghoe Beacon is probably the best place.

Hi,

My name's Ben - I bought myself a scope for Christmas and have spent the last month and a half watching the skies :bino2:, mainly with frustration due to the :clouds1:. I live in the Hemel/St Albans area and was wondering if there was anyone else near me who would fancy meeting up to observe. Someone who knows a thing or two and is willing to share their hard-won knowledge (perhaps over a pint when the clouds roll in) would be great, but I'm sure it'd be just as fun to stargaze with another complete novice like myself.