Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

£300 knowing what you know now :)

As the title is suggesting, can you give me the best idea of what to buy with a budget of £300.

I know its not a lot in terms of some of the rigs that you guys will be running around with, but I am a complete newb when it comes to all of this.

I bought the cheapest of cheap telescopes, a reflector design, and it was great fun seeing the moon so close up. I even got a little emotional lol

When it came to zoning in on some of the stars and planets, I barely managed to hold Jupiter in my view. It was magnificent, albeit really small. My main concern however was how unstable everything was, the slightest movement, even a little pressure on the eyepiece, meant i lost where i was.

So, with that in mind, what I would like to achieve within my budget is the following

Stability, would prefer it to be manual, with very fine movement, so I can learn the stars better.

Better magnification of planets

Ability to see galaxies and star clusters

Would also be nice to be able to use it for terrestrial use, kids like to see the ships out in the bay.

If i was ever to use it for photography it would most likely only be the moon.

All help and hellos welcomed :)

I've attached a photo of the moon post-29132-0-52736700-1361138142_thumb.ji got from pointing my phone up to the lense - its not great, cant quite see the craters that were visible at the time.

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

+1 for what John just said- without doubt and I'd have no hesitation in buying one again if I was starting again tomorrow. You can pretty much get up and going and not have to buy another thing if you didn't want to with this scope and still have change out of £300. Terrestial viewing is a no but photos of the moons and planets are possible also.

Don't hesitate and its low enough down for the kids to get to grips with aswel. Simplicity but a real observing instrument as well.

good luck with your choice.