Potential new star gazer needs some advice

I really want to get started in amateur astronomy and have looked at a few beginner telescopes. I saw Seben 700-76 Reflector Telescope huge Big Pack incl. on Amazon for £56.99 and although it has favourable reviews, I came across some posts on this site that said to avoid anything from Seben. After reading this, I found a similarly priced Skywatcher Mercury 607, also on Amazon and I know Skywatcher is supposed to be a better brand.

Would the Skywatcher be the better telescope for the money? Bearing in mind I'm new to this and not entirely sure if I'll be sticking to it enough to make it worthwhile, so I'm not looking to spend a lot just yet (though if I get taken by this I'll more than likely upgrade to something much better).

Thanks.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have never heard of Seben; but reading the first line about one of their scopes (114mm Reflector) it says this: "The combination of an enormous 114mm aperture and a remarkable focal length of 1000mm"...this tells me that they are rubbish. 114mm, enormous? That's a starter scope with the SMALLEST size mirror. I would go with Sky Watcher IMHO.

Maybe they work well..who knows?....anyone?...anyone?....

Would the Skywatcher be the better telescope for the money? Bearing in mind I'm new to this and not entirely sure if I'll be sticking to it enough to make it worthwhile, so I'm not looking to spend a lot just yet (though if I get taken by this I'll more than likely upgrade to something much better).

I would probably get a nice pair of binoculars to start with and see how you feel about the hobby once you have spent some time out under the stars. If you find that it grabs your interest then start thinking about a telescope.