Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Compact astrophotography?

Hi there

Some help for a newbie please. I did start a different thread a couple of weeks or so ago but have changed my mind (sorry!) on a couple of things.

Very quickly, I am a keen photographer looking at getting into astrophotography (mainly planets and maybe more later) and am looking for a telescope to suit my needs and pocket.

Looking at the advice I got last time (all really good thank you), I ended up looking outside my price range and expertise.

So, to bring myself back on track...

... can somebody please recommend a telescope which is:

1) Portable and compact

2) Suitabe for astrophography

3) In the £100 to £200 price range

I realise I am not going to have a world class setup for this but I'm just looking at something to suit a beginner.

Thank you.

i`m not a ap man (but would like to at some stage) but you`ll struggle to get any kind of ap set up for that price, an ed 80 refractor ota will cost you nearly twice your upper budget and then more than that again for a suitable tracking eq mount

I think, given your budget its no wonder your previous thread had responses that blew it.

You say your interested in planetary imaging so that means a webcam and high magnifications. Given your budget I would be tempted to maybe start with widefield imaging and have a look at something called a barn door tracker, just to get into it - would be light, portable and good for AP with a DSLR. Also get a copy of Making Every Photon Count as well.

For comparison this 'basic' set up is over budget: http://www.firstlightoptics.com/reflectors/skywatcher-explorer-150p-eq3-2.html

and that's without any camera etc.I would have a trawl through FLOs website to get a feel for costs as well.

HTH a little.

I think, given your budget its no wonder your previous thread had responses that blew it.