SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

My new Baader 24-8 zoom eye piece vs my other rubbish

My views as a complete novice...

Haven't had chance to test it properly yet due to cloudy skies (I just pointed it at a lantern at the back of my garden) but at 8mm its a world of difference form the Celstron 8mm Plossl I got as part of a 5 piece kit with my new scope.

That felt like I was squeezing my eyeball into the EP, and didn't seem that sharp either! The next one up in the kit (6mm) got even worse, barely usable...

This EP feels like a world of difference, sharper, more comfortable relief, and has a much wider view too! (at least at 8mm)

It makes me think, why do they put these rather poor EP kits in with new scopes, are they trying to put people off astronomy?

;-)

Dan

I'm still debating about whether to get one of these or seperate ep's, so I will be interested to hear what you think if the clouds ever clear!

I bought the Revelation set with my scope, and although not so bad, I really feel an upgrade is now needed, so let us know what you think.

Hi Danny,

Looks like you might have a hole in the clouds tonight between 6 and 9 at least - hopefully a chance to get out and use this seriously.

From the two occassions I've had a chance to use mine (which has been mainly lunar and jupiter) I've been very impressed with the quality compared to the admitedly low end Celestron Possls. I also find that the ability to zoom and near parfocal optics make this a great boon for inital scope alignment particularly without a reticule. The barlow is a lot better than the 3 standard standard 2x celestron/skywatcher ones that I own and is working very nicely in my webcam for lunar and jupiter images.

Overall for the combined price this gets full marks for value, 9/10 marks for build quality and probably 7/10 for optical performance on my F5 newt (leaving some room for the high end fixed EPs from TV/Pentax et al).