SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Suggestions for my first telescope

Hello,

I recently joined my local astronomy club and have immediately become hooked. I've been very lucky to have been given a Meade 12" reflecting telescope (not sure exactly what it is yet as I am picking it up next weekend). However, I will be keeping it in Ireland where I spend my weekends as the sky is much darker than Birmingham, where I live during the week, and I know this scope is not very portable!

I really want to buy a smaller portable telescope to use when I am in the UK and to take to events etc. I would like a goto as I am still learning about astronomy and would like to have fun with the telescope without spending a long time setting up the scope. I like the look of the Meade ETX90 AT, or the Celestron NexStar 127 or 130 SLT. Would anyone be able to advise me on whether the extra cost of the Meade is worth it, or whether they would recommend something else? My budget is around £500 and I would like to be able to see planets and some DSOs.

Thank you in advance for your help!

Nicola

Also if you are looking to learn then my guess is you won't really achieve this with a goto as that will do all the work for you. Consider a dobsonian and the book turn left at Orion if you truly want to learn

Hi Nicola....have you thought about a pair of binoculars first? I know they dont sound as grand as a scope, however i think it will give you certain benefits.

1) They can go anywhere

2) They are a relativley cheap way to see the stars & planets(and certain DSO including Andromeda etc)

3) They are perfect for learning your way around the sky

4) They compliment a scope as well, as certain objects really pop in 'Bins'

Get a set of bins, and a copy of Turn Left at Orion...and you will learn the skys in no time at all...then you can use any scope...goto or 'push to' and as i mentioned, they will always compliment a scope.

I wish you luck with that Meade by the way!....