Narrowband

Trouble with my Barlow

Can anyone help? Only been observing since Christmas so I am a total noob.

Just arrived home and the skies were clear as a bell so out I went with my small Dobson.

This is the first time since Christmas I've been able to view the moon through it so that was my first stop - stunning.

Next I managed to locate, what Star Walk reliably informs me was Aldebaran (HR 1457) a beautiful orange star and from there to Jupiter and it's moons, unfortunately too soon to see the red spot.

Then I thought I'd try out the Dobson eyepiece which came with the scope. Now I admit that this is a cheap scope (I was bought it as a present at Christmas) and as I have previously said I am sure to be upgrading sooner rather than later. Generally I am really chuffed with it apart from the Barlow eyepiece that came with it.

All of the other eyepieces work perfectly but as soon as I combine them with the Barlow I cannot get a focus at all.

My question is simply, is it the fact that this is a low quality Barlow or am I missing something?

Any help appreciated.

JT

Have you gone through the complete range of focus adjustment in both directions ? It can be very easy to miss the correct point if you are not concentrating especially when your new to it.

Have you gone through the complete range of focus adjustment in both directions ? It can be very easy to miss the correct point if you are not concentrating especially when your new to it.

I have Shaun, I move in the direction where the focus starts to sharpen but I reach the limit of the focus wheel before it achieves it

Hello and congrats on your first scope.

Generally speaking, anything included with a cheap scope is bound to be cheap, included the barlow. It should still work though.

What is the focal length of the included eyepieces?

On to your problem. The most likely cause is probably what Pig said. I'll suggest a few more options.