Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Another beginners question !!

Ok here we go ! I am a total beginner , bought a pair of 10x50 bins to start of with.

My qestion is , what would be and where could I get a good star map from ?

Or would i be better off getting a couple of books like ,Turn left at Orion ect ?

Baz

The advice I've been given is to have a good book like TLAO and a good star map. I was recommended sky and telescopes pocket star atlas, which after a lot of searching I managed to buy from Barnes and noble in the states.

Hi Baz, A great tool to use when star hoping is a planishere, WH smiths or Waterstones do them, they are about £10. You need to know where north is to use the planisphere but unlike most mobile phone apps for the night sky, you can still use the planisphere when there is no mobile phone signal. The instructions on how to use it are in the pack and its really easy. Grant.......Cornwall.....

Everyone recommends Turn Left at Orion so it is well worth getting. A planisphere is useful when first learning the sky, helps you orientate yourself.

Something like this...

https://www.google.co.uk/shopping/product/15527261295366675025?q=planisphere&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en-gb&client=safari&sa=X&ei=n2z-ULLbMpHhtQaf2YGoCQ&ved=0CDsQ8wIwAQ#hsec:overview

Sky &Telescope Pocket Sky Atlas is great once you need more detail and a wider range if objects and would be what I recommend.

Stu

Hi Baz, A great tool to use when star hoping is a planishere, WH smiths or Waterstones do them, they are about £10. You need to know where north is to use the planisphere but unlike most mobile phone apps for the night sky, you can still use the planisphere when there is no mobile phone signal. The instructions on how to use it are in the pack and its really easy. Grant.......Cornwall.....