Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Complete Newbie, with a few questions.

First off, I apologize, i'm sure i will ask some questions in here that have already been answered in other posts, but i figured since im posting, i might as well just throw it all out there. I am a complete newbie to all of this. I have no idea about refraction, reflection, what mm is best, or how it relates to my telescope. I have a 6 year old son who is completely and totally in love with space, planets, stars and everything related to anything that's out there. So we bought him a telescope for his birthday, and really it is fairly simple to operate. we have looked at the moon and some stars, it has gps and supposedly navigates the sky for us, but i can't tell if what it navigates to is what it says it is, or if it can even be spotted with our telescope. here is a link to the telescope i bought http://www.celestron.com/astronomy/nexstar-102-gt-computerized-telescope.html

like i said, i have the basics figured out, but i am wondering if this telescope has the ability to see jupiter, saturn, nebulas, milky way, just all the fun stuff i guess. we have looked at the moon with the 25mm lens and it was pretty cool, it was only a half moon though so i'm thinking when it is a full moon it will be a little more awesome. any advice on what lens i could buy to make sightings better i would appreciate it. I really am getting into it, it just frustrates me that i know nothing. Are there any good books or something that i could purchase to help explain stuff, or is it just a learn and figure it out as you go? I'm not a patient person lol. as if you couldn't tell already. Thank you in advance for any information or advice shared. I really appreciate it!!!!