Hello from a total newbe

Turtleboy

Just thought I'd say a quick hello.

I've been finding my way around the forum for the past few days and I have to say what a great resource. I have found some really great advice on here already. I've always been fascinated by the night sky but never owned a telescope or really learned what it is I'm looking at except for the obvious stuff like Orion and The Plough.

That feeling of awe you get from looking up on a clear night is what it's all about for me. The realization that you are a miniscule cog in a infinate machine and all the things you might be worrying about actually make absolutely no difference in the grand scheme of things.

I'm still looking for my weapon of chioce and I'm sure I will be asking for help and advice at some point, but in the meantime I'm looking forward to the next clear night to just get out there with my old binoculars and start learning.

Martin

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Just to be pedantic:

The realization that you are a miniscule cog in a infinate machine

What evidence is there for us being miniscule and therefore I suppose insignificant?

Show me another race of beings anywwhere in this vast galaxy/universe that has surpassed us.

Just to be pedantic:

What evidence is there for us being miniscule and therefore I suppose insignificant?

Show me another race of beings anywwhere in this vast galaxy/universe that has surpassed us.

I think I may need something more powerful than my old binoculars for that. :wink: