SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hi from Bath

InTheCity93

Hi there, I'm Josh, I'm 19 from Bath, I recently brought a celestron travel scope 70 just as a starter scope, still trying to get to grips with the sky but had some lovely views of the moon, and I recently brought some badder solar film so now hoping for some nice weather!

Anyway, hi to you all. :)

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Josh and welcome to SGL.

I'm no expert but I believe you need more than just solar film. Most set ups have a blocking filter in the EP as well. As it is your eyesight at risk I hope someone can confirm/advise.

HTH

Steve

as long as the solar film is the visual D5 and not imaging D3.8 type the film on its own will be fine

http://www.baader-planetarium.com/sofifolie/details_e.htm

this link tells you all you need to know

Hi Josh and welcome to SGL, viewing the Sun can be very rewarding, however, it can also be very dangerous, as you seem new to the hobby please follow all the recommended guide lines and procedures with respect to Solar observing before you start, one of the safest ways, to avoid any possible contact with your eyes, is to use the projection method onto a piece of white card, enjoy your Astronomy :)

John.

With the baader or Thousand Oaks solar film you do not need a filter on eyepiece you can buy a continium filter that will bring more detail out on are home star, it's great stuff you get use of your scope night and day

Hi Josh, welcome from me, a Bathonian through and through but now living in Swindon. The Baader Solar film or a premade filter will do you, I bought a premade solar filter from FLO and got some good use out of it, however, not seen much sun recently so had little use of late. Still, got in one or two clear nights, so that has been good. Well done for getting your first telescope, the 70mm is a good place to start and I wish you all the best! Keep us posted.

Welcome to SGL