Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from the Cotswolds

Trigger

Hi, just wanted to say hello. I've just been given a telescope for free from a friend (a Celestron NexStar 60SLT). I have always wanted a telescope (scope or whatever the correct lingo is!) however I knew out had to spend a fair bit of money to benefit properly and as a complete noobie I was reluctant to do so. However seen as this has happened Im rather happy. I have read a few reviews and realise this is only a basic telescope however for startup it will do. If I become hooked which I imagine I will, I would be upgrading as I would love to start taking photo etc especially with the comet coming letter this year! I will be looking into joining a club if I can find one to really get the best out of my (hopefully) new found hobby.

A bit about myself:

Im 27 ex Army and very much an outdoors person, I moved from Morecambe to the Cotswolds with my wife's work. I have a keen interest in all thing space and physics, having read a few books etc.

Anyway intro over I will now go and have a nosey around!

Thanks,

Alex

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Wookie, thanks, it is indeed very lovely and I am very lucky to live here. Most importantly the light pollution is quite low here so we can get good skies! Can't wait to go have a play, shame the cloud cover is bad tonight, however the friend didn't pack everything in the box so I couldn't use it even if I wanted too.

Wookie that sounds really good, Im up for that. Midnight_sky_watcher I was in the signals for 6 years, feel insignificant to your 22! I was attached to P coy lads throughout my time and worked along side both SFSG and Pathfinders (also the marines equivalent the BRF in Afghan) having worked with those guys I take my hat of to you for sticking it out!