Advice for my first Telescope

Hello All,

I just recently joined SGL and put up my first post on the Welcome forum.

In the next few weeks, after I have increased my Astronomy knowledge and manage to get many Star Gazing hours under my belt, I intend on purchasing my first telescope. I have had a quick browse around on here for reviews, opinions etc plus some other review sites as well as the BBC one. I was thinking of either the SkyWatcher Explorer 130P or the Explorer 200P (EQ5). I know I am new to this however I would like a scope with some scalability, something that I can use later on for imaging and any other beneficial add-ons etc....I don't really want to upgrade too soon. Can anyone advise me please? And the type of Eye Pieces and other Accessories that should be required? Also if there are any other scope makes and models I should be considering as a newbie?

I do want to experiment so I will be reading a lot to get a better understanding on the difference enhancements and accompanying equipment out there. Also I find trial and error is very beneficial to learning and enhancing the experiences. I'm not scared of doing things the wrong way but I do want to make my first Telescope purchase a pleasurable one and not have to change it too soon.

Any help and advice is greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Tony

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply