SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

A few easy targets please

bomberbaz

I am very new to this as some of you will know and feel I am missing getting the most out of this obses, erm sorry I mean hobby.

I have looked at many different and various references for information such as S&T sky atlas, stellariium, wikipedia (this is suprisingly useful and well informed) ajnd a few other referencing outlets from the web.

But I have probably overdone this and feeling a little overwhelmed with whats out there. So I wondered what your own favourite easier targets are to get me going. I have managed to date planetary, Pleides (which is beautiful and will stay a favourite) plus some other open clusters.

My viewing has been limited due to the good old Britist weather,however what I would lke to see more of is Nebula and Galaxies, with the former of more interest (I do have a decent UHC filter)

I would point out my best viewing areas are west to north and high in the sky, 45 degrees absolute minimum. I can go to the S and E but the LP is quite bad there.

So any pointeres please.

Baz

Most of the brightest galaxies and star clusters can be found in Charles Messier's famous list, that is where I started many years ago. I havent seen them all yet since some are too far south to be easily seen from the UK and others are faint.

http://messier.seds.org/data2.html

Here is a list of top targets by month which sorts them out a bit

http://observers.org/observing/

What scope do you have?

You can get bogged down in all Baz - as you say - the main thing is to get out under the stars and enjoy the view! M42 in the belt of orion is a lovely sight in any telescope - and is well placed and easy to find - one of the highlights of the winter sky.

andrew

You can get bogged down in all Baz - as you say - the main thing is to get out under the stars and enjoy the view!