Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_2019_sp_banner.thumb.jpg.a0ff260c05b90dead5c594e9b4ee9fd0.jpg

Entropicdrifter

Jargon free quick start for a newbie?

Hello, and please bare with me as I'm still learning to navigate the jargon filled minefield that seems to accompany my new hobby.

After years of thinking about it and looking at amazing pictures on websites, I've taken the plunge and bought by first telescope with the aim of getting involved in AP (see I'm learning).

I used this forum a great deal in sourcing advice and information as to what to go for, and subsequently I have pushed the boat out a bit and bought a Celestron C9.25 SCT on a EQ-5 GEM, along with an eyepiece kit which has all the useful stuff i need for observing, along with a polar finderscope which I can't adjust properly yet as I don't have a hex key small enough.

For AP I have a the ubiquitous Canon Rebel T3 (1100D), a T ring, T adaptor and a tele extender for EP projection (see I have been paying attention) plus a remote shutter release.

What would be helpful now, is some (newbie friendly) quick and dirty hints on how to get some reasonably good planetary and DSO shots, whilst I learn the finer points and nuances of our hobby.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

I haven't read it myself, but many people on here swear by Steve Richards' book (Steppenwolf on this forum), 'Making Every Photon Count', here:

http://nightskyimages.co.uk/making_every_photon_count.htm

Doubtless several people will be along shortly to endorse it as a good investment for the beginner in AP, especially since you have already spent a wad of cash on shiny new toys and want to learn how to use them properly.