Narrowband

Polar Scope alignment on EQ5 Pro

Hi,

I am a bit new to all of this, and though I have read myself crazy these last days; posts on this forum, as well as videos on YouTube and posts on other discussion groups, I am still at a loss. I'll try to explain my "challenge" and see if anyone can explain.

Equipment: EQ5 Pro w. SynScan GoTo, a polar scope, and a SW 150PDS.

I have the mount aligned - I followed a great tutorial and have the home position marked on the mount, and registered in SynScan. I have the reticule aligned, and the cross-hairs do not move when turning the RA axis.

But, the circles on the EQ5 (the RA Index Scale and the Date Circle on the Polar Scope) are absolute Rubbish, and they move independently when I turn the RA axis, and sometimes not at all. When tightening the RA Index Scale lock, it gets worse, and that causes significant resistance in turning the RA axis. Hence, I quickly realised I need to do Polar Alignment without the circles.

I get the easy way; move the "Polaris circle" (in the Polar Scope) to the point as described by Polar Finder (I actually use an iPhone app, PolarAlign 4.0), and then move the mount (using only the latitude and longitude adjustment bolts) until Polaris is in the "Polaris circle". And that is probably enough for visual use, but I want to do some AP.

The more precise methods leaves me to my question; most mention an alignment of the Polar Scope, where the "Polaris circle" points EXACTLY down. Why is that necessary??? Is that only to properly use the circle for the Polaris transit point?