SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

CS academic moving into astronomy

cero_uno_clear

Hi all, based in North Wales. I'm an astronomy novice albeit I have read many books but just never turned my attention to it. I am a computer scientist by profession, self employed and a humanist (an atheist with morals) which means I have the benefit of much disposable time on my hands which typical 9-to-5 people don't. I'm the type of person who has shunned a stereotypical life, partly because I don't want the baggage of a normal life which means I can focus my time and energy on stuff that matters to me as opposed to stuff which society thinks should matter to people.

I'm very good in my own field but it wasn't the reason I spent many years perfecting my skills. I do want to move into astronomy, signals processing and pattern recognition reasoning systems and have never known of any opportunities in the UK like those which exist in America, one example would be the SETI project. I consider myself an expert in my domain and would love nothing better than to apply my expertise to disciplines which could benefit astronomy or radio astronomy.

I would like to mention that I find it ironic that as I'm working within CS fields like algorithm study, (time, space, search) complexity research and compression, a lot of the terminology and methodology is somewhat interlinked and I think it is this which has me interested. The question I ask myself is which is more probable? ET or not.

Hi cero_uno_clear, welcome to SGL.....

I would also urge you to thoroughly read our Code Of Conduct (which you agreed to in order to sign up to the forum) before making any more posts. Discussing religion is not permitted on SGL.