SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Skywatcher 130 m set up

Hoppsie1335

I am new to star gazing and have just bought a skywatcher 130 m put it together today but can someone explain how I set the the telescope up for my location tried to set the red dot scope up on the moon but it was not in view when looking through the. Eyepiece I am a complete novice and it turned cloudy before I managed to get the moon in view. Any tips on how to quickly observe the moon using the eq2 mount

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Don't panic, it can seem daunting at first but it soon gets easier. Don't worry too much about aligning the mount to north just yet, just get it roughly to start with. That will come later.

Make sure you put the altitude setting to about 53 degrees and the mount pointed at about where the North Star is, and that bit will be done enough to get going.

The next thing is aligning your finder to your scope. The good news is that you don't even need clear skies for that. At night a distant light (streetlight) is good. Put in the 25mm eyepiece (EP for short) and point your scope at a distant light get it roughly central. Turn on your red dot finder (RDF) and notice how its a mile or two out. That's normal for fresh out of the factory - time for another healthy Douglas Adams style 'don't panic' again. There is a plastic wheel on the side at the front of the RDF. That slews the RDF from side to side. There is another plastic wheel at the back underneath the RDF. That does up and down. Turn these screws until the dot of the RDF is on the distant light.

Replace the 25mm EP with the 10mm EP and again centre it on the distant light. You can now use the same plastic screw wheels on the RDF to fine tune your finder alignment. You may find when you put the RDF on and off that alignment drops out a little bit from time to time, but its easy enough to check it and re align it.