SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Beginner viewing questions

Geeman

Hi there,

Just got a new telescope for a christmas present ( go girlfreind )

Managed to set it all up and align my view finder etc.

Its a 700 mm focal length tube. Newtonian reflector.

Ive got 3 eye peice with it.

20 mm

12.5mm

4mm

and a 2 x barlow lens.

So from the reading ive done am i right in thinking my magnification setups can be... ?

20mm 35x with barlow 70x

12.5mm 56x with barlow 112x

4mm 175x with barlow 350x

If so what my best x configuration to view a planetary object like saturn? And will i be able to view any nebulas etc with a another x setup? ( sorry if my all my lingo is incorrect im a complete novice :)

Hoping ill embrace and run with this a new hobby. Im quite obbsesinal and have an addictive personality if i find something i like doing :)

Thanks for taking time to read and i appreciate any advice forthcoming!

Dave

Hi Dave, welcome to a great hobby!!

I too got into thie hobby with a christmas pressy from my girlfriend, so girlfriend rock :-)

You don't mention the aperture in your post and this has a big impact in what eyepiece will give good results. Though you may get 350* with the 4mm+barlow unless you have a fairly large aperture and perfect sky you aren't likely to get a great view.

Generally a less magnified but sharp view will be more rewarding than a greater magnified, therefore bigger image of something fuzzy and indistinct.

Rough rule of thumb is that the max you can use is twice the aperture in millimetres, so a 100mm apperture gives a rough 200* max usable subject to sky conditions.

Your 20mm without barlow will be your best best for deep sky, nebula, clusters e.t.c.

Regards

Phil

Cheers for the reply Phil.,

Girlfriends are indeed good when there not complaining ;)

Just looked and the aperture size is 76mm. so with that in mind what would be the best setup for planets with the above eye peices?