Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Can atoms share electrons?

I am a complete novice but read a little and understand (possibly erroneously) that the electons 'in' atoms are effectively everywhere and nowhere at the same time?

Assuming I have got this correct (please tell me if I have - maybe it's just everywhere and nowehere in the sense that Schrodinger's cat can be both alive and dead) is it possible theoretically that an electron can be in one atom and another atom simultaneously?

I'd love to understand why or why not - either way is great!

Bear in mind I am honestly a novice so complex answers will possibly make my brain melt!

Cheers

Shane

Think in chemistry it is called covalent bonding, for real sharing look at a benzine molecule.

Schrodiners cat was not the simple idea of in a box out of sight you do not know if it is dead or alive, it concerns the probability of a radioactive decay hitting a sensor. If the decay was sensed then the cat got it from another mechanism. The live/dead cat was simply a way of saying at any time there was a probability of the radioactive decay being detected. Read the whole thing not just a select part.

As I understand it, an electron could be anywhere but not with equal probability. At any instant there's a sort of contour map of the universe showing where it might be. In a single atom, there is a high probability that "its" electrons are still nearby. When two atoms are chemically bonded, an electron could be near to either with similar levels of probablity. In simple terms their electrons are likely to be swarming around both nuclei.