second attemept with lifecam

i am still learning my way around registax, but i managed to get a few good videos of jupiter. finding it hard to get a good alignment since jupiter moves across the view. this is prob the best i have done so far

jo.png

lk.png

but some times when i stack the frames i dont get a picture but just a black section, or kind of a blurry mess.

does it matter that jupiter drifts across the view? i

Yes it does matter if jupiter drifts across the view! If you dont have a tracking electric mount then move it youre self to keep it in the center during the whole rec. session. Track it anyway u can its ok if its bouncy you just have to keep it in the center then use the slide bar to find that perfect moment. I also have a lifecam its the studio! Ps. registax hates drifting.

I am by no means a pro with registax. But I do own a dob and have been in the same situation. Ideally you want the object to stay in the same place of the capture, but sometimes you have to make do with what you have.

What I can suggest is that you try using registax 5. There are a couple of alignment options "Track object" and "predict track" that you can check that may help. That's all I can offer. lol

ok thanks, i will try registax 5 when i get home from work. and will try tracking it next time. hopefully tonight if weather permits. any one know why i have the circle and line in my first pic?

also going to have a good read up on registax.

i have been looking at tracking mounts and thinking of getting http://www.firstlightoptics.com/skywatcher-mounts/skywatcher-supatrak-mount-and-tripod.html

my scope will fit on this wont it?

Strange, I like the blue of the first one, no idea why. :eek:

I had assumed that you had put the line and the circle on for a reason - to highlighy something.

If it has "appeared" by itself then in simple term not a clue what it is or could be.

What scope have you?