Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

my amateur review of the Skywatcher 130m eq2...... for that first time buyer :)

jasonT-5

Hello

As the title suggests im just going to give my thoughts and opinions on the Skywatcher 130mm Newtonian Reflector telescope on an EQ2 mount,....this was my first ever scope just last year and seems to be a polular starter scope, i was a complete novice when purchasing so id hope to give a review aimed at anyone just looking to buy as i was when buying this scope, im no expert so apologies to the more experienced amongst you :)

Ok........

I was fascinated in astronomy, looking in books and magazines etc and mostly looking up! Id quickly decided (as you do) to look into a telescope for the first time and as a complete novice i started looking on the internet having no idea what i was really looking for.....

I stumbled onto varies Skywatcher scopes mainly due to the fact that they were nicely priced!, i only had around £150 to spend.

The term "Newtonian reflector" meant nothing to me at the time but i stumbled across a video from on youtube demonstrating the 130mm reflector on an EQ2 mount and it instantly struck my attention!, it seemed a fancy bit of kit and far bigger than the expected small stereotypical refractor type scopes people think of when thinking about telescopes (or at least what i thought)

Not really knowing what i was buying i decided to go ahead and go for it!!....including the R.A motor drive for around £170 ......as i like tech bits :)

Putting the scope together was nice and easy as the instructions were not to bad, the EQ2 mount is already complete and the counter weight shaft and tube rings simply both/screw on. The tripod that comes with the scope is very good in my opinion, its nice and sturdy and can get the scope low enough for chair use or for children, or high enough to make it impossible for me to see through the eyepiece....im 5.8ft.