Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

stargazine_ep28_banner.thumb.jpg.b94278254f44dd38f3f7ee896fe45525.jpg

jambouk

SynScan update failure

I'm trying to update the firmware on y SkyWatcher 127 Goto handset (currently version 1.7, and not sure if there is a more up to date version but trying anyway). I've never done this before.

The device has a serial lead, which none of my computers have. I got hold of a serial to USB adaptor, but I still can't get the updater to work. I've got the loader software installed on my desktop (Windows 7), pressed 0 and 8 when I power up the handset, and run the loader, but it always comes up with the error message "Firmware update failed. Cycle power to SynSCan and try again!"; I've turned it on and off, rebooted with the device plugged in, not plugged in, etc, but just can't get it to work.

I suspect it is related to the handset having a serial connector and the computer not.

Anyway around this?

Thanks for any advice.

James

the USB to serial db9 needs a driver, and/or should have one.

then check computers device manager to see if it is detected as a com port device.

also write down this com port number it comes in handy when hooking up to stellarium and the likes.

got my usb to serial from maplin at 9.99 came with software. i installed driver first then plugged in my goto paddle (without power)

the notebook found it right away (win 7 starter). my version comes up V3.08 i think without checking.

skywatcher merlin ALT-AZ goto tracking head unit is what i am running

Synscan firmware loader V3.0

synscan firmware V3.08

Edited by Mr TamiyaCowboy