Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Equatorial Mounts

Neutron

Ok, I'm a little new to this and really keen to start astro imaging. I wondered if there are any equatorial mounts out there that can be attached to a Jessop 800-80 Astronomical Telescope? I would really like to be able to get some images of nebula or galaxies for my photography book. Thanks for reading. ;)

I'd have a read of the astroimaging book recommended in your other thread before anything else, to be honest. DSO imaging is a complex and expensive area and you really need to have an understanding of what you're getting into before you start. You can't just get a mount, stick any old scope on it and expect to get good images.

James

Actually, if you're into photography already then quite possibly you have a collection of lenses that would be better suited to imaging than the telescope. You'd still need a tracking mount, but there's no reason you couldn't just put a ball head and camera directly on the mount and use a decent 200mm or 300mm lens.

James

Thanks for all your help guys, I'll explain myself a bit better. I have quite a vast knowledge of the actual objects I'd like to image and I have basic knowledge of photography and how to use a DSLR. For example, I understand that you need quite long exposure times for the camera to actually capture the light and for this, the image has to be steady. I also know that you need processing packages to clean up the image. It's just that AP is a bit of a new area I'd like to explore and I'm just a bit unclear of the equipment needed. Thanks again. :)

Read the book :) Things really will make far more sense then. There are so many different choices you can make and it will give you a much better picture of what your options are than is easily possible in a thread here. One day, someone might even read it and come to their senses :)

James