Have I made a wrong decission?

wouter

Hi all,

I am new to SGL. I became member because I want to start with astrophotography and hope to learn some tips and tricks and receive some advice from you guys :)

I'm not new to astronomy at all, but I'm very new to imaging.

So I have a few first questions now about getting started with imaging.

Until recently I used my unmotorized SW 150mm reflector only for observing.

I have sold that scope now and have purchased a Celestron C9.25 SGT XLT on a CG5 mount.

I've got the the T-adapter, T-ring and barlow lens for the T-adapter with the scope.

The reason I decided to go with this scope is for the following reasons.

- I wanted a setup that would be in my budget of max $3000

- I wanted a scope that is bigger, for more light gathering power, yet portable enough to move in and out the house to the garden.

- I wanted a scope that is good for observing too, not only for myself, but also for my family.

They mostly like to see the moon or planets. I read this scope is really good for solar system observation (which I can confirm already!)

- But for myself I really wanted a scope that would be good for imaging.

The shop I bought it at confirmed me that this is a really great telescope for both planetary and DSO imaging.

So all these factors considered, I thought this would be the best starting gear for my needs.

However, now I am reading some articles (on SGL and elsewhere) that the C9.25 is not really good for imaging DSO's.

From what I read it seems that a C8 would have been a better choice.

I still don't fully understand the reasons why though, if it's really the case could somebody please explain me?

I am not talking about the mount, but purely about the optics.

As far as I know all Advanced series are F10 telescopes (including the C9.25), so I don't really see what the problem is.

Now I really can't consider selling this scope and buying a new one...