Narrowband

Hello, I'm a REAL Newb

dhodg

Hi everyone,

Just thought I'd throw a quick introduction post up and say hi. I've lurked the forum for a bit and the wealth of information available here is quite overwhelming and awesome for a total newbie like myself. Although I don't have a scope or any other kind of optics for that matter, I have, for a long time looked up and been humbled by the awesome spectacle that hangs above us (cloud permitting of course :smiley: ). Also, living in Stockport isn't great due to the amount light polution, however when we do have clear skies they are usually good enough for making out most constellations, which at the moment I'm trying to learn using Mk1 eyeballs so I can navigate round the night sky.

Anyway, that's enough rambling from me, I'm sure you will all suffer from a tirade of silly questions from me at some point :grin: !

Cheers!

Dave

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome Dave. As you have seen, the wealth of knowledge and experience here knows no bounds. It's a good idea to learn the night skies first, then when you've got some idea where your main interest may lie (visual, imaging, planetary, deep space etc.) and when circumstances (and finances) allow you can pick the brains on here to help you decide on your first scope. Don't be afraid to ask however basic the question may seem. Everyone has had to start somewhere

Best of luck and clear skies :smiley:

Jason