Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

stargazine_ep28_banner.thumb.jpg.b94278254f44dd38f3f7ee896fe45525.jpg

Sionoh

Astrophotography :Getting started with SPC900 and SW 127 Goto.

Hi I'm a newbie to the forum.

I've done plenty of photography in the past and I have a mak 127, small dob and bins which I've used for a year or so now for general astronomy.

I would now like to progress to astrophotography....

I've been trying to set up my spc900 to work with the SW mak 127 without much luck.

Webcam works fine with lens fitted but focus seems impossible without lens through the mak.

So far I have the webcam adapter fitted, IR filter, x2 barlow. I've tried leaving the diagonal fitted and removing it but no joy.

I would be interested if anyone with the same set up could give me some pointers as to where the CCD needs to be in order to achieve focus?

Sion

• Like 2

Hi Sion and welcome to SGL :smiley:

I haven't got the SW Mak, but have used a Meade 125 Mak and a webcam. I'd start without the barlow - the field of view will be really small with it. Maks generally have a wide range of focus so I'd say you can do it with or without the diagonal. Turn the gain up and the exposure up too in the software and then turn the focus knob really slowly. I found its really easy to go through focus without noticing it if you move the focuser too quickly. Once you've got an out of focus bright blob you can focus to make that smaller and then adjust the shutter speed and gain downwards until you can focus to get detail. You might want to try it in daylight to get somewhere near focus and/or set up a parfocalising ring on an eyepiece so that you'll be able focus with the eyepiece and then swap in the camera and be pretty close to focus.

HTH

Helen

• Like 1