Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Canon 650d or Nikon 5100

Hitesh

Well I'm considering buying a new camera which will eventually become part of my imaging rig, but I'm torn between these two cameras, please can anyone suggest which of the two or even suggest another dslr; I plan on using it everyday so will not modify.

I am no expert here but to start it off I believe there is far more support f or AP with Canon.

See if the more experienced agree

Yeah I believe there there are programmes like backyard eos and apt for canon but does anything exist for Nikon?

The Nikon D5100 is a really good camera. It's practically as good as the D7000 that is the flagship DX sensor camera. It also is more sensitive to IR than the canon equalivents. In my eyes it lacks long exposure settings (but you can fix that for a few pounds on ebay with a timer remote) and mirror lock up.

With that being said, Canon has much better software support for AP and the community is more used to modding. I like Nikon, have always done, but if I weren't biased I'd probably have considered Canon.

So, if you can find no specific reason to chose Nikon, I'd recommend Canon for AP.

I always fancied another Nikon, I bought into digital when the coolpix 950 was launched £1200 !! Ouch, I then bought a D30 for nearly 2K a year later... I was stuck with Canon after that for years because I had invested in decent lenses.. Astronomy came along and I sold my equipment and got into CCD's. I still have a real wish to get into Nikon but the software isnt as good as whats available for canon..

Nikon you will need - Nikon Camera Control Pro 2 or Capture One someone once said Adobe Lightroom also tethers..

Nikon you will need - Nikon Camera Control Pro 2 or Capture One someone once said Adobe Lightroom also tethers..