Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Absolute newbie's guide to powered mount upgrades

I'm contemplating the feasability, practicalities and potential costs involved in converting my 200p skyliner Dob to something that could serve as a gateway to astrophotography, initially with webcams but perhaps later using a DSLR. Aside from knowing that I'd need to fit scope rings and a dovetail to my OTA, I'm ashamed to admit that I have almost no idea what hardware I would need to achieve this, or if it is really practical with this scope at all.

So aside from a mount, I presume there would be gizmos to consider like power tanks and various cables? Anything else I'm overlooking?

To start you would need to convert the scope from a dob mount to rings and dovetail. This isnt difficult. A set of tube rings... http://www.firstlightoptics.com/tube-rings/skywatcher-telescope-tube-rings.html

Then you will need a dovetail bar... http://www.firstlightoptics.com/skywatcher-mounts/skywatcher-dovetail-mounting-plates.html

The rings secure around the tube, and the dovetail will be connected to the rings. Its then a case of mounting your scope on an EQ mount. For that scope you would ideally be looking at a HEQ5. A power supply, like a 110Ah leisure battery works very well. You will need a 12V cigar socket to battery clamps, and a 12v cigar plug to mount connector. This will be the mount and scope ready to go. As for connecting a DSLR, you will be looking at getting a T thread ring to DSLR connector and then a t thread nose adaptor (either 2" or 1.25" depending on what you want to use) This is the basics, that will get you started.

Kerian

As far as the power pack goes you may want to look into Celestrons deep cycle power packs. Not too exspensive and 17 Ahs. As Keiran mentioned the HEQ5 should do fine but I like to have a little more mount then telescope so I use something like the HEQ6. It think it's a little steadier.