Narrowband

Really old 8 x 30 Binos

Hi,

First night out with a pair of really old (grandfathers) pair of 8 x 30 binos. It was certainly better than the naked eye

, and I managed to stumble across a lovely group of stars Called Mirfak. Or at least that's what SkySafari told me it was.

I also tried to see if I could see Andromeda with them and I thought I could see the tiniest hint of a smudge whilst looking to the side of where I thought it should be. after checking with SkySafari again I was definitely in the right area! Question is would it be possible to see Andromeda with such low power binos? Also would it make much of a difference buying some new 10 x 50 binos? I have my heart set on a Skymax 127 telescope but after tonight I realise how fantastic it is looking at clusters ad not just planetary objects. Any advise for a total newbie would be great fully received.

Cheers Jay

yeah in a dark site you can just make out the fuzzy of andromeda with your eye so some magnification will bring it out [m33 is visible as well with the naked eye in a dark site most people on here start with 10x50's or 15x70 10x50 are ideal size as the 15x70's are heavy to hold after 10 mins or so [unless you use a tripod./monopod]

Thanks dtr42, that was a quick reply! I did notice the lack of circulation in my arms after about 30mins with small binos. Might just have to hurry the purchase of a scope if we get more of these clear nights. Just have to make a decision on which one to buy....... Might take a while though :-)

i had bins for over a year before buying my first scope and still use them now [andromeda in bins is very nice ] most people who are going for visiual observing tend to go for a dob [150-200 mm is the usual starter ] and on an eq mount the 130p skywatcher or celestron are good , i would join a local astronomy club and have a cheeky peek at their scopes ,you'll find most club's are freindly with very helpful people who are usually very happy at sharing their hobby