SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Any tips for getting your astro mojo going again?

I've got a decent scope, decent mount, decent eyepieces, a guide scope, camera mounts and all the other accessories needed but I get home from work wanting to get out and have a look but it's too cloudy. Then when I do have a clear night I'm GOING to work or have something else planned that I can't get out of. It's hit my astro mojo! I'm making a serious effort to get out and being stopped at every opportunity ! I might have the kit of someone that knows what they are doing but I swapped a load of stuff I had for most of my kit and just picked up the guide scope stuff separately! I'm still an absolute beginner :)

Any tips for getting your astro mojo going again?

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Really it is expectations, and coming to grips with reality.

Owing to the "normal" work hours forget observing Sunday night to Thursday night inclusive.

That leaves 2 night out of seven.

Bet that wasn't explained when you asked about getting a scope.

Next how many will have cloud/rain/wind on a Friday or Saturday night at about 10:00pm, because if not clear then I would say you will not set the alarm for 3:00am to get up and check if it has cleared. No way am I getting out from under a warm duvet.

Why do astronomy societies around me have club observing nights on Mondays and Wednesdays?

What is the prevalent weather for where you live, I seem to recall Margate being the clearest place in the UK, are you near Margate?

West coast of the UK is generally wetter and cloudier (Now where is Preston? :grin: :grin: )

Next can you set up the equipment you have easily or is it a long labourous job, more then 15 minutes is too long.

How well organised are you, by the time it is set up do you need a stiff brandy to relax after all the hassle.

A small easily set up scope will mean you use it a lot more.