Power issue - CG5 GT mount - too long a power cable ??

Telescope40

Hi All. I'm no electrician, but please read on as a bit stuck at the mo.

Bought a CG5 GT mount yesterday from a fellow SGL er. Was seen to be fully working before purchase.

Got home, connected my powertank. Power light is on, handset looks fine. When I go to align I can here the motors go clunk in an attempt to slew, then nothing. Seems to be a lack of power. Couple of Q's if I may.

The cigarette lighter type cable that came with the mount is approx 4.5 meters long. Too long ?? Thinking I am losing power due to this.

I have plugged in my LX90 which has a much shorter ( curled ) cable and it is running fine with no issues. Both need 12v power.

The powertank is not fully charged at the mo. ( currently being charged ).

If the cable length is the issue, is it quite easy to dismatle the cigarette plug, shorten the cable to say 1.5 meters and re attach. Guess a touch of soldering will be on the menu. Hoping not too many bits and bobs drop on the floor when I undo the cigarette plug ?

Any other thorts welcome.

Regards as always John

It is extremely unlikely that the cable is too long. the motors should take less than 1 amp, and so perhaps the cable is damaged or not connecting properly. Can you try the long cable on the Meade? Or can you connect directly to a car cigarette lighter? Otherwise, can you get someone with a multi-meter to check the cable? These tests should confirm the suitability of the cable. I run my celestron CPC 1100 with around 15 metres of mixed lighting cable without a problem.

Chris

Thanks for the info guys. Think this rules out a cable issue. The same cable worked fine yesterday when the previous owner was giving me a demo, using his 12v power supply. I was just baffled by the fact my LX90 was running fine off the powertank and the CG5 wudddnt.

I'm loathe to switch cables as I blew a goto mount a while ago by cross using a meade cable on a Celestron mount. Not pretty !!