sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_31.thumb.jpg.b7a41d6a0fa4e315f57ea3e240acf140.jpg

New to Astrophotography... Please help!!!

I currently own a zhumell 10" dobosonian and love it!! Now I actually want to get into some deep space imaging and am looking for a beginner telescope. Telescopes(dot)com is currently having a sale and was wondering if it was a good time to purchase! I was looking at the celestron NexStar series and was wondering if that was a good choice? I also own a Canon Rebel t3i camera which I plan to use for imaging.

Here are my requirements:

Preferably around 500$ (I know thats low, but keep in mind im a beginner! Im also a college student)

Will it be possible to get good images with a telescope for that price?

Thank you!

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

OK - here is my advise: 6" f/5 Newton on HEQ-5 Thats perfect for getting into photography and gives you the possibility to extend later with an Autoguider. There is no point in buying equipment under

If I was getting started, I would get an HEQ5 and an ED80 refactor scope. Makes life very much easier if things work out of the box and a refractor will pretty much do that.

If all you can afford at this point is a mount, then you'd be better to get a decent mount, and you can use your SLR with lenses directly on top. If the dob is a solid tube, it should be possible to m

Before you purchase any equipment you might want to read "Making Every Photon Count." It will help you understand what kind of equipment is suitable, and hopefully help you to avoid spending money on items that are not fit for the desired purpose.

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/books/making-every-photon-count-steve-richards.html

Clear skies,