Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

jupiter oct 15th

neil phillips

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

H Stuart Seeing was a bit calmer than the last outing. I was going to use the powermate. But decided to stay on the 3x celestron with tube and filter wheel extension. it was a healthy focal length. with the benefit of being a bit sharper than 11 meters. something i said i was going to be trying. This was 30 fps. i tried some at 60 also. havent processed those yet. time for a rest.

Dew was crazy tonight. like i had thrown the scope in a swimming pool. Did you go out ?

Nice pic there Neil. Well done for being awake enough to process.

I know what you mean about the dew. My heater tape was on full for a while even with a shield. I think I could go for a swim on my corrector plate without them !!

Lovely work Neil! what do you think of the celestron 3x! it certainly looks like it captures some nice detail, is it an apo barlow or a doublet?

I am still learning about it to be honest simon. But i think this is the best result with it so far. Looking at more captures from this night as i write. It says its a 3 element design.

Great result Stuart. These heavy dew nights stop me from doing any kind of collimation as the corrector dews up as soon as I take off the dew shield to access the collimation screws.

Cheers,

Chris

I know me and Stuart both use 10" scopes but i havent become him yet Chris :huh: Couldnt you use a heater band for collimation then switch off. or just keep blow drying as your collimating

I know me and Stuart both use 10" scopes but i havent become him yet Chris :huh: Couldnt you use a heater band for collimation then switch off. or just keep blow drying as your collimating