SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

how to take flat frames

Hi all.could anyone please advice me on the best and easiest way to take flat frames.I've heard of people putting a teashirt over there scope and shining a light at it? Then take photos that way .if so how long exposure and how many should I take? And do these have to be done straight after the darks? Also I've heard people taking there Camera of there scope and pointing it at a laptop white screen this obviously seems easy too but then I read about having take them at same temperature? Any help on what's best and the length of exposure setting would be greatly appreciated.I'm new to astrophotogrsphy slowly getting there but struggling on few things such as flat frames.

Hi Paul,

First of all, you don't say what camera you are using, DSLR or CCD so to give an indication of exposure time is nigh on impossible at this point in time!

You are looking at a couple of things with flats.

1) Ensure that the focus is the same as when you were imaging

2) Ensure that the camera orientation is the same

3) Ensure that the filter is the same

These make it ideal to take the flats at or around the same time as the image, incase any extra dust for example has got in between your imaging and flat taking time. I don't actually know how important it is to be at the same temperature as your imaging run, but I keep mine the same.

I used to use a laptop screen when I had a DSLR, with notebook open and held up to the telescope as close as I could to the dewshield to stop extra light getting in. Then I would take an exposure on AV, with the same ISO as well and just ensure that the exposure time got me a histogram that peaked at between 1/3 and 1/2 across the whole histogram.