Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

SkyMax 127 Focuser

Can anyone help...?

I've recently purchased a SkyMax 127 with the SynScan AZ GOTO 127mm Maksutov-Cassegrain. all works really well and i'm happy with my purchase. i'm pretty new to all this and i'm hoping to venture out from the enclosure of my back garden. but i would like to get a bit more associated and comfortable with using the scope and motor settings, which i have to say is pretty easy to use and set up.....apart from one thing....... there's always something.!!!!

The Focuser on the scope is proving to be a bit tricky to use. Its heavy to turn, The scope shakes when trying to focusing which means its difficult to actualy focus on something if anything.

Can anyone suggest any alternative focusers for this scope or any advice on how i can make life simpler with this focuser? i'd be appriciative on any advice.

Also, i'm based in Toddington Bedfordshire. i there anyone on here that knows of or lives local that knows of some good spots to view the night sky.

thanks for your time guys

mark

There are a number of approaches you can take, including at least a couple that happened to have turned up in other threads in the last day or two, oddly enough.

A common mod for the Mak focuser is to get a plastic lid from a jar (Nutella and peanut butter are apparently favourites) and cut a hole out of the centre to match the focuser knob. The lid can then be fitted over the top of the knob to allow better control of the focuser.

An even lower tech version of the same thing is to use a spring clothes peg clipped onto the focuser knob. The plus side of this is that it's then a single finger "push" to move the focuser either way, but the negative side is that you need to get the focus close before adding the peg because it will foul the visual back. I used to do this, partly because I don't eat Nutella and I can't stand peanut butter :) It worked ok.