Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

X box Webcam

MJP

I am new to web cam imaging but have read that an Xbox webcam works.

Can anyone advise what needs to be done to the camera in order to use it.

Also wil it work with Windows XP? Does it come with driver software? What program would I need to process images? Is there a 'primer' available on web cam photography available on the Web?

Advice will be appreciated.

Mike

Yes the xbox live vision webcam mod (cliff) its called something like that, huge thread youll need to trawl through it to find the useful info but right at the beginning is some instructions and two thirds through I have posted pics too. Anything else you want to know or advice in general dont hesitate to ask, pm me or post - no worries.

Regards

Aenima

• 3 months later...

Thanks to gdheib0430 for this particular tutorial. - A good way to begin this general how-to thread.

Thanks for the initial mod Cliff. :)

6695872767_cf5c122e3b.jpgThis how-to section is for the diy type for low cost (for those not using the spc900 nosepiece adapter with a ir cut filter screwed into it) there are other ways to keep the price low but this is a good one. :)

Here is the beginning...Materials used:

1. livecam

2. Plastic rubber cement

3. Small flat head and phillips screw drivers.

4. Gerber or small saw blade with a knife to smooth edges out.

5. 1.25" PVC plumber pipe (grab the cheapest one you can find I spent $1.24 for this on pictured)

Steps:

1. Unscrew lense from camera and remove...it will screw out just a little ways, but find the light gray clip on outerpiece and pop it off casing to unscrew it the rest of the way and remove it.

6695874751_2a8987156b.jpg