Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Telescope or Binoculars?

Hiya, my plan was to be getting the 15x70 celestron bins next week. But I've been having a look on telescope house's website, and I've seen this

http://www.telescopehouse.com/acatalog/meade_114eq_stargazing_114mm_telescope.html

Is this decent? It sounds like it'll be perfect for me... I'm a beginner with just an old pair of bins atm.

Would appreciate some feedback on whether I should look at going for something like this - or if I should stick to bins (I'd need a tripod as I'd like to set it up for my kids to look through as well)

if you want to see planets in detail then you'll not do so with bins.

in my opinion http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-heritage-130p-flextube.html would be better than your choice at the same price or if you can stretch a bit http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-150p-dobsonian.html would be a fab scope for a beginner.

Generally I'd say a good pair of bins is better than a poor scope, however, Meade make some pretty good stuff so I'd lean towards the scope - but I've no experiance of the 114 so best wait for someone that's used it for a more sound recommendation

Whichever way you go, have fun!

I have one Claire. I bought mine to act as a super finder on my larger Dob. It gets to f/8.8 by a lens in the focuser. I removed the one in mine so it would act like a rich field scope at f/4.4

This worked pretty well and it's an okay little RFT scope. I never tried it at f/8.8 but can't see why it wouldn't work okay.

Not sure it would be my first choice as a stand alone scope though. I would go with Shane's suggestion TBH. :)

You would do better with the Heritage, it's light and portable and has 16mm more of aperture, which means more light gathering ability. It will also have a larger field of view than the Meade, as it has a shorter focal length :). It's a brilliant scope. (But, I'm slightly biased as I have one)