Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Jupiter, 10~11/08

gary1968

Right then, finally got out with the dob and the DFK21AS618 a shot of some avi's if Jupiter.

It has taken me a wee while to get a 'satisfactory' process of the data as I am fairly new to planetary imaging, not to mention RAW avi's and having to debayer.

Anyway, here is the result of my first outing. Not up to the standard of you guys yet, maybe the focus was a bit soft or collimation not quite right. The avi was shot around 01:30 on the morning of the 11th, so the planet wasn't really that high. This was taken at F10 as I only had an Antares x2 barlow, I have since invested in a AE x4 Imagemate so image scale should be much better next time.

Am am glad to note however that there is no evidence of the grid pattern or parallel lines that was discussed here earlier in the year, I hope that the camera continues to perform like this......

7827255812_aaeb1ee59b.jpg

Jupiter and moon by gaz-anderson, on Flickr

C&C welcome as usual folks...... :-)

Gary

Hi, Thanks for the kind words folks...... :grin:

It was 4000 frames at 60fps, avi ran through PIPP & debayered in PIPP then AS!2 set to stack best 50%. I tried not to debayer in PIPP then debayer in AS!2 but that always left me with a monochrome image...... I cant figure out what I am doing wrong there.... :rolleyes:

Gary

I tried not to debayer in PIPP then debayer in AS!2 but that always left me with a monochrome image...... I cant figure out what I am doing wrong there.... :rolleyes:

Gary

If PIPP centres the planet or crops the the frame then the bayer pattern may or may not be correct for that frame, and certainly will not match between frames. The colour information is still there, you just need to figure out which bayer pattern each frame now has!

Thinking about it, I could overcome this by adding an option to only crop or shift the pixels by an even number so that the underlying bayer pattern remains in the correct place.

Cheers,