Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Canon 450d mod

petergc

Now I'm a bit of a noob in all areas of our chosen hobby, and as I'm a keen photographer I want to turn my attention to AP. I have purchased a 2nd hand 450d body as i don't want to open my brand new 60d.

have watched a video on You Tube by Gary Honis and I believe I can do the mod :)

Now my question is once I have removed the IR cut filter do I have to replace it with anything else if I'm not using for daytime photography? Gary mentions on his website that The auto focus will not work but that won't pose a problem will it?

I'm keen to have all my equipment ready for the longer, darker, clearer skies :)

Thanks

Different preferences apply with modding as much as with anything else astro-wise. Some people are of the opinion that just removing the filter is sufficiient whilst others go for the Baader replacement. Personally when I get around to it I think I will go for the replacement option.

sorry for hijacking the thread a bit but why do you need to remove the ir filter? was thinking of getting one of these as theyre relatively cheap second hand but would want to use as a day camera and for some moon/planetery photo's .so is it any good for that /

i think removing the filter alters the focus path not a problem for astrophotography.there is a good write up on here

http://www.astronomiser.co.uk/eosmod.htm#chngrem

Thanks very much bunny god I will take a look at the link now.

Different preferences apply with modding as much as with anything else astro-wise. Some people are of the opinion that just removing the filter is sufficiient whilst others go for the Baader replacement. Personally when I get around to it I think I will go for the replacement option.

I have enquired into getting the filter from the company Gary suggests but after emailing them they won't ship to the Uk so I'm going to give Flo a call tomorrow. So I my get the replacement but I may not.