Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

my bst rattles!

Hey all, finally got a clear night tonight so decided to give my new BST 8mm a run and it rattles!

It only rattles with the eyepcup up, when its down it seems fine but I can't see through it properly.

I daren't unscrew it incase loads of lenses fall out but surely it shouldn't rattle? I've got a horrible feeling a lens is lose as, it could be my eyes, but I'm sure it goes very slightly blurry when the eyecup is up!

I got it from Alan on ebay.

Wow, that was quick.

Got a reply from Alan advising me exactly what the issue is and how to fix. He's even offered to replace if I mess it up.

Fantastic service!

If you and Alan are ok with it would you be willing to post the exact issue and relevant remedy?

There are a lot of BST users on this forum (inc. myself) and I am a complete newbie. Any knowledge on simple fixes is a bonus to me and maybe others too :grin:

Dave

• Like 1

If you and Alan are ok with it would you be willing to post the exact issue and relevant remedy?

There are a lot of BST users on this forum (inc. myself) and I am a complete newbie. Any knowledge on simple fixes is a bonus to me and maybe others too :grin:

Dave

Mine don't rattle but they may develop issues so I'd be interested to hear too.

I had the same thing. I tried Alan's instructions but the rattle came back - maybe i didn't use enough force when tightening it..

Alan sent me another one, I used the packaging from that one to send mine back. Alan even refunded the postage so excellent customer service. The new one is fine.

Permission given, here we go: