SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Eos 1100d and aperture while using a barlow

Gazer2012

Hey guys im fairly new to astrophotography, i have a canon eos 1100d and a skywatcher 130p. I have the t ring and barlow adapter and have been somewhat successful with taking pictures of the moon. The way i understand it is i have to use the barlow as there is not enough inward travel on the focuser to achieve prime focus.

Heres where my problem is

I know its not ideal to use a barlow to take pictures of dso`s but when i set my canon to the Manual in order to control the shutter speed the aperture seems to be locked at 00, when i try to change the setting i get a message saying that i cant with no lens attached. With it set to this any pictures i take just appear black, even while having the scope pointed at the moon. I assume im doing something wrong otherwise how else will i be able to to take long exposures unless i attach a proper lens and do piggy back style. I have heard people know how to lock the aperture so if anyone can give a noob some help id greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance

The reason the aperture value on the camera shows 00, is there is no electrical connection between the body and the telescope/barlow, which you would get with a normal camera lens. So this is all the camera can display. If the image is blank, then you're shutter speed is too fast.