SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

SPM and the Sky at Night

stevetynant

I'm sure this or variants of it have been discussed before but I'd like to bring it up again if you have the patience - I'm quite new to astronomy and am really enjoying myself and hope this is a hobby for life but having watched the Sky at Night regularly for years I'm starting to become disillusioned by the programme itself because of the constant deference to SPM.

I don't agree with Knighthoods / OBEs etc but this is a totally separate argument and not for one second would I try and denigrate the great man's achievements in furthering astronomy and his personal contribution is not the point of my post - the point I am making is the programme itself spends far too much time sucking up (for want of a better word).

This is Sir Patricks original telescope that, this is where Sir Patrick originally observed, This is the painting in Sir Patricks - its just constant. Then that insufferable impressionist relives it again and again

I know theres a place for sentimentality and nostalgia and every show needs an anchor man but it just grates with me.

I know I may be committing astronomical heresy with this but am I alone in thinking this way?

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't believe you are alone in feeling that way and I understand your viewpoint. Personally I don't mind the constant referencing and I am sure that when Sir Patrick eventually retires the programme will eventually take on a different form and probably represent something akin to your expectations of how it ought to be. To be honest, he has been doing that programme for such a long time that it is inevitable that it starts to take on the form of an institution but I think we can forgive the programmes makers a little here given that Sir Patrick has given the best part of his life to astronomy and if that means we treat him almost as a deity for a while I don't see the harm.