Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

guide camera QHY

Daniel-K

im looking at choice's for a guide camera and have narrowed it down to 3 could all well within my budget for a guide camera i like the look of the QHY any advise on either of these?

http://www.modernastronomy.co.uk/camerasGuider.html#IMGOH

http://www.modernastronomy.co.uk/camerasGuider.html#mammutt

http://www.modernastronomy.co.uk/camerasGuider.html#loadstar

I don't know the first two sorry ( I use the cheapo QHY5 for guiding, which is great) the Loadstar is a fairly legendary guide cam though.

Why not give Bernard a ring as well. I am sure he can talk you through the pros and cons of each one.

I jsut bought a Starlight express Costar ( a QH5 drivivative i believe) which has firmly put me onto the guide road. as a complete beginner in all things astronomy the only thing i would say having thought about 2 of those you mentioned which are cooled, was for guiding i couldnt justify the need of the cheaper cooled systems as i have the dslr for deep space and planetary if i need, and putting the extra pounds away into the Atik CCD jar forthe real camera at a later date seemedabetter option.

there are a lot of experienced folk around here who i am sure will provide much in depth reasoning.

if your budget can aford a lodestar guide camera go for it. i moved from a qhy5 to a lodestar for my oag system and the difference is just like day and night. with the qhy i was struggling to find a guide whereas with the lodestar i can find at least 3 guide stars with my oag system. if you are going to use a guide scope then the qhy is the way to go since you will be able to find guide stars and have decent guiding and as you said you can use it for planetary imaging dut for future upgrade to higher f ratios i would recomend the lodestar. here http://www.stark-labs.com/craig/articles/assets/Guider_Roundup_API.pdf is an article form craig stark about guide cams