Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Open Club  ·  33 members

West Midlands

Living With Light Pollution in the West Mids.

Northern Soul man

Hi To All checking the West mids new group (thanks to Daz). Yeah I know CLOUD RAIN CLOUD RAIN and more CLOUD RAIN.

Just thought that I'd start a thread regarding observing - As we all know observing from light polluted skies is, I'm afraid, what we do living where we live, I've been observing for many years and gradually worked my way up th the present kit I own - wonder what you guys and gals think about observing under light polluted skies and how it affects you when searching for those faint fuzzies and wether its ever put you off astronomy - or like me, find the enjoyment of the hobby, by just getting out and trying night after night to "see" fainter objects only to be left with an "invisible" dso in the ep. Realistically, looking for objects below about 10.5 becomes a real challenge - so only the brighter members of the catalogues (M, NGC,IC etc) are there and just detectable - yes, I know the planets, moon bright doubles are fantastic under any skies and we would all love just setting up outside with the Milky Way "plastered" accross the sky and having no trouble with fainter fuzzies at maybe 12 and fainter.

I've never been to a really dark site, wonder if any of you have, can you share with us "light polluted" observers what sort of faint dso's youve been looking at.

I really enjoy the hobby as do everyone on here, I know, to me, its just about setting up on a clear night and having a good "gaze" for as many objects that are high enough in the sky away from the orange glow that has become the "norm" for us, Thanks again Daz for setting this up and await your replies - regards Paul.

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Paul