Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Sky at night magazine.

I am thinking of taking out a subscription to the sky at night magazine as I want to learn more about astronomy as I really love my telescope and thought it would give me something to read on the cloudy nights.

Do you think it is very useful to a beginner as I don't want to receive a load of magazines full of things I won't understand as I'm very new to astronomy.

What do you think?

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

SAN is a great idea - but just buy one from the newsagent first to see how you get on with it. If you find it suitable then go for the subscription. You'll find astronomy is a reasonably technical hobby depending on how far you take it. But SAN presents it very well for the uninitiated without getting overbearing - it is well suited to the beginner and the more profficient amateur, with a good spread of articles for both, and a very useful monthly night sky guide. Good luck :)

I bought a few issues about a year ago having taken up astronomy as I knew absolutely nothing. Along with the knowledge I have learnt from the good people on SGL I have taken out a subsciption to S@N and I find it excellent. Always lots of interesting articles and info. Along with the starcharts and the monthly guide I really look forward to every issue. Also the included cd which has past episodes of the Sky At Night and the virtual planitarium. And the subscription is much cheaper than buying it from a newsagent.

The deep sky planning stuff is very good, the reviews am not sure about - they've just changed over to a new format, but there's always a half page of witless drivel written by a Dr that's meant to be amusing, but which is just a waste of space - before you subscribe, I'd have a look at the other Mags that are available too.

Chris