Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

When to upgrade a telescope or get equipent

I am new to the hobby (about 6 months in now) and have seen some really amazing things, but was really disappointed when i found M13 but it was just a smudge of light, and could not pick anything out. I have a skywatcher 130, how do i know what i can and cannot really see, i live in Worcester so there is light pollution so i will travel to malvern, which i a small town on a hill.

Should i be looking for a different scope or some equipment to enhance things.....

Cheers Chris

You should visit a local astronomical society and see whether they have any observation session in your local area. That way you will be able to try different scopes in an area with sky condition similar to your home.

You should visit a local astronomical society and see whether they have any observation session in your local area. That way you will be able to try different scopes in an area with sky condition similar to your home.

They dont have any meetings in the summer... well no telescope sessions. =(

Hi

Depends when you saw M13 but if it was recently then the lighter skies will reduce the contrast needed to observe deep sky objects. Local light pollution and your scope's eyepieces and magnification will also play a part. Try again in September, visit a dark sky site in the area, possibly upgrade EPs for higher quality equivalents. It might be worth investing in a larger aperture scope (the Skywatcher Skyliner 200P is a very popular scope as an upgrade). Definitely check out your local astro clubs when they meet up again and try several scopes before taking the plunge.

HTH!