Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Should i be able to see M13

mrnumpty

I am a total beginner at this astronomy stuff but when i found M13 i was really excited. It was just a smudge of light in the eye piece, i tried to focus, change up to a Barlow lens, increase the power of the eye piece but it was still just a smudge.

I have a sky watcher 130. It was second hand but has recently been collimanised. I live in Worcester an have a limited view from my back garden, is it the street lights that are stopping me from seeing this.

Ever since i had a problem with the spider (the screws had been rounded off) i have been worried that there i something else wrong.

Advice please

Cheers MRnumpty

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think (but may be wrong) that in a 130mm scope M13 is always going to be a smudge but certainly light pollution is not going to help.

Well done for finding it anyway - a lot of people would probably have missed it completely as it is just a smudge.

With DSOs everything depends on the darkness of the sky - if the sky is dark enough then M13 is easily visible in 50mm binoculars or a finder, but it will be a smudge. Resolving it into individual stars requires aperture. The brightest stars in M13 are around magnitude 12 and they're obviously very close, so there needs to be sufficient resolving power in the scope (which comes with aperture). I should think 6" (150mm) is probably a realistic minimum for resolving a good number of stars in M13 though I wouldn't be surprised if keen-eyed observers have done it with less. With an 8" it's easy.

I also have a SW 130 and found M13 for the first time last night, as far as I am aware (and based on the diagrams in Turn Left at Orion) it is supposed to appear as a smudge (certainly did for me).