SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello from Liverpool.

Watch

Hello SGL,

I have joined this forum in order to learn more about astronomy and to seek help on where to begin. I use to have a classic shop bought telescope from Argos when I was about 8 that I used to watch a lunar eclipse with and it was amazing and it is a memory that has always stuck with me and kept me interested in astronomy.

However I am completely new to astronomy but have been reading several websites that provide help and information to beginners, such as articles on the Astronomy magazine website and on the Sky and Telescope website. I was thinking about subscribing to the Astronomy magazine and was wondering if this would be recommended? I have also seen the several sticky posts in the beginners help and advice section about recommended reading that I will definitely look into.

I have an average pair of binoculars and no telescope and no books currently. I was also wondering if anyone has used the Startracker4s App for their Iphone and if it was a useful tool for beginners.

Thanks, I look forward to getting to know you all.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Binoculars are a great introduction to the hobby. I started with bins and was amazed just how much more can be seen than with the naked eye. BTW I lived in Liverpool until I moved up here 20yrs ago and wondered how you cope with the light pollution?

I can second the use of stellarium and I have also used a program specifically intended for the bino viewer called T.U.B.A. Sorry, I don't have the link to post but if I'm sure you will find it if you Google it.

Also, a good book to get is Turn Left At Orion which includes sketches of what you may expect to see in binoculars.

HTH

Thanks for the replies everyone and thanks for the link to Stellarium Jim, just installed it and loving it already.