Narrowband

Making A Radio Telescope

MeanEYE

Hi there folks. Am not sure if this is the right place to post this topic but hopefully admins will move to a better place if I did make a mistake.

For a while now I've been thinking about creating my own radio telescope around 2m in diameter. I did some preliminary search online and found all sorts of results so I decided to ask here. Am not interested only in measurements but imaging as well. When answering please bare in mind that I am pretty new with the whole astronomy hobby.

Okay, my questions are:

1. Do you know about already made kits which can be purchased?
  2. Any useful links I should see in case I decide to make everything on my own?
  3. In case I do decide to make everything on my own, are there ready made sensors I can purchase?

As I am a programmer I thought it would be cool to perhaps share live data stream online or perhaps enable some sort of remote control so more folks can benefit from this little project of mine. I would probably do all the programming myself.

Thanks in advance for your answer and patience.

• Replies 128
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I was kind of joking the other day when I suggested to my wife, that what I needed with all this cloud, was a radio telescope.

Now then.... Where did I put that old satellite dish.....?

:)

Will keep following this thread to see what happens.

Ah!! They work through clouds, do they? Thought the water content might block the signals. If they do that's really interesting :D How lovely it would be to have something that works on cloudy nights :)

I was kind of joking the other day when I suggested to my wife, that what I needed with all this cloud, was a radio telescope.

Now then.... Where did I put that old satellite dish.....?

smile.gif

Will keep following this thread to see what happens.

Think i'll have to get some old sat dishes think me dads got one in his shed and get couple of LNB's